IT. Expert System.


HTML Character Sets

HTML Character Sets

To display an HTML page correctly, the browser must know what character-set to use.

The following table lists the 128 ASCII characters and their equivalent HTML entity codes.

ISO Character Sets

The following table lists the different character-sets being used around the world:

Character Set Description
ISO-8859-1 Latin alphabet part 1: North America, Western Europe, Latin America, the Caribbean, Canada, Africa
ISO-8859-2 Latin alphabet part 2: Eastern Europe
ISO-8859-3 Latin alphabet part 3: SE Europe, Esperanto, miscellaneous others
ISO-8859-4 Latin alphabet part 4: Scandinavia/Baltics (and others not in ISO-8859-1)
ISO-8859-5 Latin/Cyrillic part 5: The languages that are using a Cyrillic alphabet such as Bulgarian, Belarusian, Russian and Macedonian
ISO-8859-6 Latin/Arabic part 6: The languages that are using the Arabic alphabet
ISO-8859-7 Latin/Greek part 7: The modern Greek language as well as mathematical symbols derived from the Greek
ISO-8859-8 Latin/Hebrew part 8: The languages that are using the Hebrew alphabet
ISO-8859-9 Latin 5 part 9: The Turkish language. Same as ISO-8859-1 except Turkish characters replace Icelandic ones
ISO-8859-10 Latin 6 Lappish, Nordic, Eskimo: The Nordic languages
ISO-8859-15 Latin 9 (aka Latin 0): Similar to ISO 8859-1 but replaces some less common symbols with the euro sign and some other missing characters
ISO-2022-JP Latin/Japanese part 1: The Japanese language
ISO-2022-JP-2 Latin/Japanese part 2: The Japanese language
ISO-2022-KR Latin/Korean part 1: The Korean language

Unicode Standard

Unicode can be implemented by different character-sets. The most commonly used encodings are UTF-8 and UTF-16:

Character-set Description
UTF-8 A character in UTF8 can be from 1 to 4 bytes long. UTF-8 can represent any character in the Unicode standard. UTF-8 is backwards compatible with ASCII. UTF-8 is the preferred encoding for e-mail and web pages
UTF-16 16-bit Unicode Transformation Format is a variable-length character encoding for Unicode, capable of encoding the entire Unicode repertoire. UTF-16 is used in major operating systems and environments, like Microsoft Windows 2000/XP/2003/Vista/CE and the Java and .NET byte code environments


Android Reference

Java basics

Java Enterprise Edition (EE)

Java Standard Edition (SE)





Java Script








Design patterns

RFC (standard status)

RFC (proposed standard status)

RFC (draft standard status)

RFC (informational status)

RFC (experimental status)

RFC (best current practice status)

RFC (historic status)

RFC (unknown status)

IT dictionary

All information of this service is derived from the free sources and is provided solely in the form of quotations. This service provides information and interfaces solely for the familiarization (not ownership) and under the "as is" condition.
Copyright 2016 © ELTASK.COM. All rights reserved.
Site is optimized for mobile devices.
Downloads: 444 / 158667962. Delta: 0.03495 с